The origins of Abu Pokemon

Two of the readers asked why I have taken the nom de plume Abu Pokemon given that this blog is not really about Pokemon. Instead of our regular stories in Lego we are going t take a detour and talk about the origins of Abu Pokemon.


If you are old enough, but not that old, you would be familar with Pokemon which was huge all over the world back in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Abu Pokemon is a combination of Abu and Pokemon. In Arabic the word Abu means father and thus Abu Pokemon means the father of Pokemon. For starters I am not the father of Pokemon or of anyone for that matter. Not only that but I am single so Abu anyone is somewhat of a misnomer for me. Hey I am just a simple grauate student.Β  Ok, may be not that simple but you get the idea right?

The name Abu Pokemon has its origin in some really unreally ridiculous commentors on some of the blogs that I used to frequent. On some good Muslim blogs some people, also Muslims, would post very unreasonable comments and try to pass them off as Islamic with a holier than thou attitude. The problem was that their arguments were not even rooted in Islamic scholarship. Thats when I realized that to counter such people it may be best to either ignore then or to send them off to the city of Satireville. I choose Abu Pokemon as my nom de plume because the aforementioned commentaors had Abu someone in their names and Abu Pokemon sounds like a really odd pairing. I do have a knack for non-abvious pairings. Someone has to look out for Japanese Muslims, right?

I could have chose Legoman but that is not that exciting is it?

The name Abu Pokemon also makes me sound Arab which I am not. Besides, in Arabic Abu Pokemon would be pronounced Abu Bokemon. πŸ™‚

, ,

  1. #1 by Muslim Girl on July 12, 2010 - 1:23 am

    Haha well for one thing I am glad that Pokemon fad is over. Drove me crazy.

    • #2 by abupokemon on July 12, 2010 - 2:26 am

      Did it drive you crazy because you were really into it or did it drive you crazy because everyone else was into it?

  2. #3 by Rukhpar Mor on July 12, 2010 - 1:35 am

    Haha yes it would be Bokemon..!!!! Oh and actually, all the speculations that I had conjured up in my mind were false…..That means you can’t really know someone just by their blog name…
    First, I thought maybe you like Pokemon, and then I thought maybe not…And then I speculated that maybe you had kids and they liked Pokemon, which turned out to be false..
    Oh and I did think you were Arab…You were very cool at that point..

    • #4 by abupokemon on July 12, 2010 - 2:37 am

      If your speculations proved to be wrong then that is a good thing. I have done my job then. When people meet me in person I come off as a fairly regular person, unless my reputation has preceded me. πŸ™‚ But if you know me sufficiently enough and you are one of those people who like to stereotype people then you will feel like banging your head on the wall because I will seldom fit into buckets.

      I will now quote YOU with respect to this point, “I like people to look at ME and see me as a PERSON and not a culture, religion, etc.”

  3. #5 by Rukhpar Mor on July 12, 2010 - 1:36 am

    I meant to say, “I thought you were Arab”..

    • #6 by abupokemon on July 12, 2010 - 2:46 am

      To this I will quote my favorite poet, “Cheen o Arab, hamara, Hindustan hamara. Muslim hain, humwatan hain sara jahan hamara”

  4. #7 by Rukhpar Mor on July 12, 2010 - 1:37 am

    Wait, never mind, it is grammatically secure…why did I think for a split second that it sounded incorrect??

    • #8 by abupokemon on July 12, 2010 - 2:41 am

      Hopefully this blog does not make you nervous when you comment.

  5. #9 by Rukhpar Mor on July 12, 2010 - 1:38 am

    I mean it *was* grammatically okay and I should not have written the second comment trying to correct the first…In fact, the last three comments you should ignore..thank you

  6. #10 by Lat on July 12, 2010 - 2:08 am

    Now I think I get it πŸ™‚ So what you’re saying is,what you see is not what you get? πŸ™‚

    You sure have a “knack for non-abvious pairings” πŸ™‚

  7. #12 by Rukhpar Mor on July 12, 2010 - 4:17 am

    HAHA Brother Pokemon,
    I do not like to stereotype (at least I don’t think so)..
    Yeah I was joking about the Arab part…..You’re still cool..Maybe I offended you??

    Is that Muhammad Iqbal’s poem??

    I think I got carried away so I had to comment multiple times…

    • #13 by abupokemon on July 17, 2010 - 6:50 am

      No you didn’t its all good.

      Yes its Iqbal, the man who saved me.

  8. #14 by rukhparmor on July 12, 2010 - 4:27 am

    I really wish I could delete my previous comments…I am kind of in a strange mood today…

    • #15 by abupokemon on July 17, 2010 - 6:49 am

      Its ok. Its good to be strange sometimes

  9. #16 by Sanju on July 12, 2010 - 9:18 am

    Well I’m glad someone’s paying homage the Pokemon.

    I really love the games. Do you play them?

    • #17 by abupokemon on July 17, 2010 - 6:50 am

      Indeed, indeed.

      No I did not play the games but I am familiar with them.

      Nice art BTW

      • #18 by Sanju on July 21, 2010 - 1:40 am

        Oh, you’re the first blogger to comment on my art I believe. Thank you. =P

        Heartgold and Soulsilver were amazing. >_> As was Platinum.

      • #19 by abupokemon on July 21, 2010 - 2:55 pm

        Sanju, You are welcome. I thought it was pretty good.

  10. #20 by Sana on July 12, 2010 - 1:00 pm

    I loved pokemon

  11. #21 by Mezba on July 12, 2010 - 2:52 pm

    Haha I could never understand why kids were so into Pokemon! Try saying “some like Coke some like Pepsi” in Arabic English!

  12. #23 by 'liya on July 12, 2010 - 7:06 pm

    I remember my younger brother used to be very much into Pokemon.. I don’t if I’m making this up or if it’s from the tv show or maybe it’s a mixture of things, but I remember the part from the song that goes Pokey Pokemon! and that’s all I remember lol. Oh wait and there was some yellow creature or something. Oh wait maybe I’m thinking of Spongebob :S

    • #24 by abupokemon on July 17, 2010 - 6:52 am

      I think you are thinking about Pikachu who was yellow. Also please dont mix the two, it would be blasphemy!

  13. #25 by rawi on July 13, 2010 - 5:55 pm

    LOL re. Abu Bokemon! My first real laugh of the day, I think. Thanks! Also, not to toot my own horn, but I think you basically just confirmed my assumptions based on your pseudonym, on most points…except I guess the part about your encounters with various online Abu’s. But I’m pretty sure I’ve come across some of the same ones you’re alluding to.

    BTW, I’m sure you’ve gotten used to hearing this, but did I mention that I looowe the lego work?

    • #26 by abupokemon on July 17, 2010 - 6:53 am

      If it made you laugh then I have done my job. πŸ™‚

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  14. #27 by azlin on July 20, 2010 - 7:42 am

    Ah…some of my questions are finally answered by this blog entry.

    πŸ™‚

  15. #29 by H on August 13, 2010 - 4:27 pm

    And Bokemon would have to be your daughter’s name (that’s how it works right? ‘Father’s name Daughter’s name’?)
    Hilarious!

  16. #30 by abupokemon on August 16, 2010 - 10:13 pm

    H, I am neither married nor do I have a daughter!

  17. #31 by Tea Hostess Reema on September 29, 2010 - 3:26 am

    Salam Abu Pokemon!!

    Awesome blog you got here. I found it through a link Irving shared on his facebook about you acting out Master of the Jinn through the legos and I thought that was amusing πŸ˜› I used to love Pokemon as a kid but grew out of it quite fast I think, I then liked Digimon but eventually grew out of that even faster! XD

    In response to H’s question: Bokemon would actually have to be either his eldest son’s name or if he has no son at all, then his eldest daughter’s name πŸ˜‰ . Also, to say something or someone is “Abu” of something is to mean that he owns it or that he can always be found with it to the extent that you can actually identify the two together (example: “Abu al Lehya” would literally translate to “Father of the Beard” but the actual meaning would be “the one who has a beard”). (Source: I’m an Arab myself)

    Anyhow Abu Pokemon, you’re more than welcome to stop by the **Tea House** (my blog) though I haven’t updated it in AGES!! (Been quite a slacker in it this year lolz) But you can at least sip some **tea** there πŸ˜›

  18. #32 by Tea Hostess Reema on September 29, 2010 - 3:32 am

    Sorry for commenting twice in a row, but forgot to mention that the same thing applies with the word “Umm” which means mother and it is especially used by strangers as a sign of respect toward a married woman (kinda like calling someone Madame or Ms.), for example, since I have an elder brother called Rashad, my mother would be called Umm Rashad by strangers.

  19. #33 by abupokemon on September 29, 2010 - 6:46 am

    wa salam Reema, Welcome to the blog, I hope you stop by often. I just stopped by your blog, you are right it has not been updated for ages. Thanks for the explanatory comments. Now we know that there are many Muslim fans of Pokemon out there.

Leave a Reply

