On Sister’s Day

Most likely many readers of this blog do not know that the first sunday of August is supposed to be Sister’s day. While I do not have a sister I do know someone who comes close and so this post is dedicated to her. The first sunday of August was about a week ago so this post is somewhat late but I presume that is somewhat appropriate since we haven’t talked to each other for a year now. If one does not talk to another person that does not necessarily mean that one cannot wish them well. To make a long story short, she asked for forgiveness from me but at that time perhaps I was not ready to forgive. And now we do not even talk even if we are in the same room and that does happen quite often.

A couple of weeks ago I was at the Jummah and the imam mentioned a narration from the life of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) which I had heard before but had not really thought about.” The Messenger of Allah (peace be upon him) was seated in a gathering with the companions when he (pbuh) looked towards the entrance and said, “A man of Paradise is coming.” At that instance someone who seemed to be very ordinary entered the mosque where they were seated. A companion was curious as to why the Prophet (pbuh) said this, so he followed the man to his house. This Sahabi told the man that he was a traveler and stayed as a guest. For three days the Sahabi saw nothing unusual, so he finally told the man what the Prophet had said and asked him what was so special. The man thought for a long time and said, “There might be one thing — before going to sleep every night I forgive everyone and sleep with a clean heart.” ” The narration made me realize the meaning of forgiveness and humility. The following verses from Moulana Rumi come to mind while reading this narration.

Our brotherhood is not one of despair
Even though you have broken
Your vows of repentance a hundred times, come.

Fast forward to the present. The other day, when I saw my sister, she looked so sad. I wanted to say hi and ask whats wrong or even say that I forgive you sister but I did not. You might ask why I did not say anything, its because I know that she would not respond positively or even respond at all.

And so whatever hardship or problems that she is going through I just pray to Allah that may he make it easier for her.

And to my sister I say, “Even though we may never talk to one another and you may never read this post, I wish all the best to you and I forgive you Nuna.”

Hopefully there will be a smile on her face today. May Allah have mercy on all of us. Ameen.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by H on August 9, 2010 - 9:25 pm

    Enlightening hadith.
    Also, that’s very..ummm…kind of you 😀

  2. #2 by abupokemon on August 9, 2010 - 10:47 pm

    I would not say that is kind of me or anything. This is something that I should have done a long time ago.

  3. #3 by azlin on August 10, 2010 - 1:48 am

    so do it. life’s short.

  4. #4 by Mezba on August 10, 2010 - 8:54 pm

    I echo Azlin.

  5. #5 by Hajar Alwi on August 11, 2010 - 5:29 am

    Finally! Alhamdulillah! 🙂

  6. #6 by abupokemon on August 16, 2010 - 10:20 pm

    Azlin, Mezba. Perhaps you are right but I no longer know how to even start the conversation.

    Hajar, Dont count on it sis.

  7. #7 by azlin on August 17, 2010 - 4:25 am

    You start by saying Salam.

  8. #8 by abupokemon on August 17, 2010 - 4:03 pm

    I could say salam, although it may not have the same cultural significence since she is non-Muslim.

  9. #9 by azlin on August 18, 2010 - 1:57 am

    Then you say hi, ask her to have tea/coffee. And you move from there.

    • #10 by abupokemon on August 18, 2010 - 3:34 pm

      You are forgetting one thing – its Ramadan.

  10. #11 by azlin on August 19, 2010 - 1:45 am

    THERE’S SUCH THING AS NIGHTIME!

    • #12 by abupokemon on August 19, 2010 - 9:34 pm

      We almost never run into each other after 6 pm

  11. #13 by azlin on August 19, 2010 - 1:47 am

    I think, you have made up your mind about this 🙂 and we shall put this case to rest.

    • #14 by abupokemon on August 19, 2010 - 9:35 pm

      I think deep down I know what it is. I do not want to be acquiantances, I would rather be a stranger ….

Leave a Reply

